top of page

ACTnet Steering Committee

Dr Andrew Burke 

Dr Burke is a dual specialist in respiratory medicine and infectious disease at The Prince Charles Hospital in Brisbane. In his earlier years he worked in a variety of roles in the Northern Territory, PNG, and Sudan where he gained experience in treating TB in resource limited settings. He is currently completing research in the pharmacokinetics of mycobacterial drugs in TB and NTM infection through the University of Queensland Centre for Clinical Research. Dr Burke was a primary author for the most recent Therapeutic Guidelines section on Tuberculosis and he has been a member of the Queensland TB Expert Advisory Group since its inception five years ago. I have been a recent past convenor of the respiratory infectious disease SIG for the Thoracic Society of Australia and New Zealand. In representing TSANZ on ACTnet Dr Burke looks forward to continuing to develop research links between the Australian infectious disease and thoracic societies and specifically looking at ways of developing tuberculosis pharmacokinetic research in Australasia

Dr James Trauer

Dr Trauer is a respiratory, sleep, general, public health physician, and head of the Epidemiological Modelling Unit for the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine at Monash University. His primary research interest is TB and emerging infections, demography and non-communicable diseases. Dr Trauer collaborates closely with researchers at James Cook University, through our modelling platform to assist high-burden countries for TB to better understand and fight their epidemic (the Australian Tuberculosis Modelling Network or AuTuMN). I have previously been on Steering Committee for the TB Modelling and Analysis Consortium (the global body responsible for coordinating TB modelling and epidemiology) and have worked with National TB Programs from Papua New Guinea, Fiji, the Philippines, Bulgaria and Bhutan.

Dr Greg Fox 

Associate Professor Greg Fox a respiratory physician, epidemiologist and clinical trialist committed to using research to improve health care among disadvantaged populations. He is clinical Academic Lead (Research) for the Faculty of Medicine and Health at Cumberland Campus. His research focuses on detection and prevention of tuberculosis (TB), a lung infection that kills over two million people each year. Greg's ongoing work ranges from community-wide cluster randomised trials and clinical trials to meta-analysis and evidence-base policy development. Much of his research is in resource-limited settings. Dr Fox is a NHMRC Career Development Fellow and Associate Professor in Respiratory Medicine at Sydney University.

Dr Gabriella Scandurra 

Dr Scandurra is an experienced academic and research manager. She has over 15 years of extensive lab-based research experience, leading projects in Tuberculosis and HIV, Pseudomonas and M. paratuberculosis with the last 6 years transitioning into research management. She is currently the education manager for the Marie Bashir Institute for Infectious Diseases and Biosecurity at the University of Sydney whilst still involved in TB research. Dr Scandurra is also the Chair of the Australasian TB Forum. The TB Forum is a registered Health Promotion Charity comprised of the only nation network of clinicians, researchers, advocates and public health practitioners working towards the control and elimination of TB in the Asia and Pacific regions through leadership, collaboration, advocacy and education.

Dr Justin Denholm

Associate Professor Justin Denholm is the Medical Director of the Victorian Tuberculosis Program. Justin is an infectious diseases physician and ethicist, and is actively involved in clinical and public health tuberculosis research and supervision. He is a Senior Staff Specialist at the Victorian Infectious Diseases Service at the Royal Melbourne Hospital, and Principal Research Fellow in the Department of Microbiology and Immunology at the University of Melbourne. He is also the current Chair of the Australasian Tuberculosis Forum, and co-Chair of the Ethics Advisory Group of the International Union against Tuberculosis and Lung Disease. Justin has a wide range of expertise and experience relating to tuberculosis, and has published research around clinical management, epidemiology, tuberculosis genomics, diagnostics and multi-drug resistance. Justin also has an active research program in ethical issues related to tuberculosis in society, including public health policy, screening programs and isolation.

Dr Suman Majumdar 

An infectious diseases physician, Dr Suman Majumdar is Deputy Program Director (Health Security) at Burnet Institute, and a member of the Tuberculosis Working Group. He has focused skills in the clinical and programmatic management of TB/drug-resistant TB, HIV medicine, training healthcare workers, and health system strengthening. Suman has worked in a variety of contexts, implementing TB/HIV and global health programs in Timor-Leste, China, India, Mexico, Swaziland and regions of the former Soviet Union. He has a passion for working in global health through sustainable partnerships and building local capacity. His work aims to redress health inequalities resulting from infectious diseases and enhance health service delivery in low and middle-income countries by providing technical support, training and conducting operational/implementation research.

Dr Ella Meuman 

Dr Ella Meumann is an infectious diseases physician at Royal Darwin Hospital and a PhD candidate at Menzies School of Health Research and Charles Darwin University. Her research is on the application of genomic sequencing to infectious disease epidemiology in the Top End of the Northern Territory, and includes work on tuberculosis, melioidosis and Acinetobacter baumannii.

bottom of page